National Forests

On this menu, you’ll find links to our summaries of rules, regulations, and procedures for recreational activities (including hunting) at national forests and other areas managed by the U.S. Forest Service (USFS). To link to our summaries, select one of the geographical regions of the California Department of Fish & Wildlife (CDFW) below or from the alphabetical menu to the right. Warning shot!!! For general regulations for visiting these areas, click here.

Region 1: Northern

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama and Trinity counties

CDFW Region 1

  1. Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest
  2. Klamath National Forest
  3. Lassen National Forest
  4. Modoc National Forest
  5. Shasta-Trinity National Forest
  6. Six Rivers National Forest

Region 2: North Central

Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lake, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo and Yuba counties

CDFW Region 2

  1. Eldorado National Forest
  2. Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest
  3. Lake Tahoe Basin Management Area
  4. Lassen National Forest
  5. Mendocino National Forest
  6. Plumas National Forest
  7. Sierra National Forest
  8. Stanislaus National Forest
  9. Tahoe National Forest

Region 3: Bay Delta

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, Sacramento, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, San Francisco, San Joaquin, Solano, Sonoma, and Yolo counties

CDFW Region 3


Region 4: Central

Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Monterey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Stanislaus, Tulare and Tuolumne counties

CDFW Region 4

  1. Los Padres National Forest
  2. Sequoia National Forest
  3. Sierra National Forest
  4. Stanislaus National Forest

Region 5: South Coast

Los Angeles, Orange, San Diego, Santa Barbara and Ventura counties

CDFW Region 5

  1. Angeles National Forest
  2. Cleveland National Forest
  3. Los Padres National Forest

Region 6: Inland Deserts

Imperial, Inyo, Mono, Riverside and San Bernardino counties

CDFW Region 6

  1. Humboldt-Toiyabe National Forest
  2. Inyo National Forest
  3. San Bernardino National Forest

1 Response to National Forests

  1. Pingback: Public Target Practice Areas in California | Legal Labrador

Make a suggestion for this page

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s