National Wildlife Refuges

Tule Elk tour route

San Luis National Wildlife Refuge (Tule Elk Tour)On

On this menu, you’ll find links to our summaries of refuge-specific rules, regulations, and procedures for hunting on National Wildlife Refuges located in California.  There over 40 National Wildlife Refuges located in California.  Twenty-one (21) of them have hunting programs administered either by the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service or California Department of Fish & Wildlife (CDFW).  Our summaries also include refuge maps, driving directions, and links to useful information.  Link to our summaries from the Regions below or alphabetical list to the right.  Warning shot!!!  These refuge-specific regulations supplement or supersede general hunting regulations.

Region 1

Northern Cal.

Del Norte, Humboldt, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama and Trinity counties

CDFW Region 1


Region 2

North Central Cal.

Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, El Dorado, Glenn, Lake, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo and Yuba counties

CDFW Region 2


Region 3

Bay Delta

Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, Sacramento, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, San Francisco, San Joaquin, Solano, Sonoma, and Yolo counties

CDFW Region 3

Region 4

Central Cal.

Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Monterey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Stanislaus, Tulare and Tuolumne counties

CDFW Region 4

Region 5

South Coast


Region 6

Inland Deserts

Imperial, Inyo, Mono, Riverside and San Bernardino counties

CDFW Region 6

  1. Cibola NWR  *
  2. Havasu NWR *
  3. Imperial NWR *
  4. Sonny Bono Salton Sea NWR

* Cibola, Havasu and Imperial are partially located in Arizona

[Ref. 50 CFR § 32.24 and  14 CCR § 551(c) and (d)]

State-Administered NWR’s

The following is a list of National Wildlife Refuges classified in California as “Wildlife Areas” and are operated by the CDFW:

  1. Colusa NWR
  2. Delevan NWR
  3. Kern NWR
  4. Merced NWR
  5. Sacramento NWR
  6. Sacramento River NWR
  7. San Luis NWR
  8. Sonny Bono Salton Sea NWR
  9. Sutter NWR

[Ref. 14 CCR § 551(c) and (d)]

No Hunting

The following are National Wildlife Refuges that do NOT allow hunting: Antioch Dunes NWR, Bitter Creek NWR, Blue Ridge NWR, Butte Sink WMA, Castle Rock NWR, Coachella Valley NWR, Ellicott Slough NWR, Farallon NWR, Grasslands WMA, Guadalupe-Nipomo Dunes NWR, Hopper Mountain NWR, Marin Islands NWR, North Central Valley WMA, Pixley NWR, San Diego Bay NWR, San Diego NWR, San Joaquin River NWR, Seal Beach NWR, Tijuana Slough NWR, and Tulare Basin WMA and Willow Creek-Lurline WMA

[Ref. 14 CCR § 552(a)]


Make a suggestion for this page

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s